B10 DHI Innovation Park, Bannerghatta Road, Bangalore, India


The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) assesses the English language proficiency of people who want to study or work in English-speaking environments. It provides a fair, accurate and relevant assessment of language skills, based on well-established standards, and covers the full range of proficiency levels, from non-user to expert user.

There are two main tests. Test takers can choose either Academic or General Training tests. Both tests consist of four separate sections, assessing the four language skills – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. IELTS results are reported on a 9-band scale designed to be simple and easy to understand. This scale has remained consistent and has acquired currency around the world over the past three decades.

IELTS test

Listening 30 minutes

Speaking 11 to 14 minutes

Reading 60 minutes

Writing 60 Minutes